Central Hockey general information


Central Hockey encompasses nine associations (Manawatu, Hawkes Bay, Central Hawke's Bay, Taranaki, Wanganui, Poverty Bay, Rangitikei, Dannevirke Sports Club and Horowhenua). It covers the area from New Plymouth to Gisborne and everything in between.  

Central Hockey competes against seven other regions as determined by Hockey New Zealand. The main focus of Central Hockey is offering players a platform to develop themselves further with and against players of a higher ability.  It’s also a pathway towards the level of the Black Sticks teams.

Central Hockey has 6 teams;

·         NHL men and womens 

·         U21 men and women

·         U18 men and women

Those teams are formed by trials, which is open to all players from the Central Region. Although for most Central teams you need to be nominated for those trials by your own association. 

For more information about Central just click http://www.centralhockey.co.nz/